Hungry or nah?

I was leaving that great bastion of consumerism (Wal-Mart) and I was approached by a young man.  He asked me if I would be able to help him out by giving him a few dollars so that he could get something to eat.  I told him that I did not carry cash, but I would be happy to let him have the two pretzel dogs that I’d just purchased inside the store.  He looked disappointed and said, “I was really just thirsty,” and walked away.  I do my best to help people in need because the truth of the matter is that it would take just a few unfortunate circumstances to put me in the same position.  There are so many people standing on corners all over the county and perhaps around  the world holding signs because they are in need.  It has become, in too many instances a scam, and it makes those of us who want to help, hesitant to do so because we don’t know how to determine if someone is sincerely in need or if they are just running a scam.  Having lived in a homeless shelter for a short amount of time I know that there are a few shelters that require that you pay a weekly rent of $56.  If this man needed money for that I would have gladly gone back into the store and used the ATM to give him the $56.  But he didn’t ask for money for weekly rent for the shelter, and he didn’t ask for money to get something to drink, although he said he was thirsty.  He asked for money for food.  I don’t know if I did the right thing or not.  A part of me wonders if I should’ve just offered to go get him something to drink.  I just don’t know.  He said he wanted food and I offered him food but he turned it down.  Does this mean that he was going to use the money for something else?  I may never know.

 

http://www.dva2de.com

~ by Diva2de on July 8, 2014.

Leave a Reply

