Independence…from fear.

Today I visited two ladies from my childhood.  Two very good friends of the family that I haven’t seen for a while.  One of the ladies has a knee that she needs to have replaced, but everytime she goes to her doctor there is always something that causes a delay.  The other lady was a very close friend of my mother.  Her husband is very ill and there may not be much time left for him on this side.  I thought that I was going there to cheer them up in their time of need, but they were encouraging and enlightening me.  The lady who is waiting for the knee replacement said that even though she is in a lot of pain, she is still able to care for herself.  Although she moves slow she can move and she can see to her own personal hygiene and prepare her own food.  The lady whose husband is fading told me that when she was younger she took every opportunity to take trips and just go where ever she wanted to.  Now that her husband is not well she spends all of her time at his bedside.  She said that she doesn’t regret staying by his side because he took care of her and their children very well.  She told me to take every opportunity to go and see and do, because you never know when you will not be able to go anywhere by yourself.  I realized that I spend a lot of time bemoaning the “aint gots”.  These ladies were shining examples of being thankful for what you have regardless of your circumstances.  For all my desire to live my life free of fear I realized that I have still be letting fear hold me back.  Today I declare my independence from fear.  It’s time to “Just Do It”, what ever it is.  Only one of 2 things can happen.  Either I will fail or succeed.  It’s not like I haven’t failed before.

~ by Diva2de on July 5, 2014.

Leave a Reply

