The most segregated day II

This morning I attended another United Methodist Church.  No mean mugging from anybody.  This congregation was a little more alive than the last one.  They also sang an interesting rendition of “I go to the rock”.    At the other church the word was good and gave me comfort, revelation and confirmation.  There was something different about this church.  The congregants were more engaged.  The message was about Joseph.  Joseph is tied with David as my favorite personality from the bible.  I identify with Joseph because he has a lot of siblings with whom he did not fit in and because of his dreams.  I too, have been a dreamer.  Some would say they are prophetic dreams and others would say that I am just dramatic but whatever the case I have always been able to hear and understand God better through my dreams.  She ( and I like that fact that it was a woman) was finishing up a Summer Beach Reading series.   She talked about the broken relationship between Joseph and his brothers and how he did not allow that to stop him from being a vessel that God could use.  She reminded us that with God  nothing is wasted.  Not even the experiences that break your heart and possibly your spirit.  Joseph confirms this in Genesis 50: 20 as he tells his brothers”… you meant evil against me; but God meant it for good”.  That’s the take away for me.  Regardless of what happens, whatever other people may mean by what they say or do, God meant it for my good.  Had I not been stagnant where I was I would never have embarked on this journey.  Whether the pain we experience is inflicted by people with malicious intent or just indifference it is meant to make us better not bitter.  The preacher put a quote on the over head projector that said “You can’t move on to the next chapter in your life if you keep re-reading the last one.”  This resonated with me because I have spent so much time remembering the pain of the past.  It is what it is, I cannot remain stuck.  The only way to get un-stuck is to keep moving.  The story of Joseph is to give us strength and hope.  Joseph went from the pit to prison to the palace.  it was a hard journey for him, but he kept the faith even when it seemed as if he’d been forgotten.  He also used the gifts given to him by God for the glory of God.  When he interpreted the dreams he was careful to acknowledge that the interpretation comes from God.  When Joseph reached his place of prominence he did not forget God nor did he forget his family.  We serve a God that can redeem anything.  In the beginning of the story of Joseph the bible tells us that Joseph’s brothers could not speak peaceably to him.  At the end the brothers spoke kindly to each other.  God redeemed the relationship of Joseph and his brothers.  He also redeemed Joseph’s time.  He can do the same for us.  My real lessons today: 1. people are separate on Sundays because they are seeking religion and not seeking God. 2.  If you are who you say you are, it doesn’t matter where you are. Maybe it is religion that is keeping people apart, but a true relationship with a real and living Savior is what allows the spirit of the Lord to flow through us and bring us liberty.  At this point i have stepped out of my comfort zone by going to churches where the congregations don’t look like me, but I’ve stuck to Methodism.  It’s time to move beyond what is familiar to me.  Next week, non-denominational-ism.

~ by Diva2de on August 18, 2013.

Leave a Reply

