Eighty Nine…Goodbye Grandma

On June 24 of this year my Grandmother turned 89 years old.  We celebrated her birthday as we often celebrate holidays with her.  As many of her grandchildren as possible meet at the nursing home and we share whatever meal she has requested.  This year it was yakisoba and my Dad’s sweet potato pie.  Of course her roommate Mrs. Jackie was there and another lady that Grandma had taken under her wing.  It was as always a blessing to spend time with her.  I stopped by Sunday before last (I’m southern that’s how we label it) on my way home from church to drop her off some dinner.  She often rejected the food from the nursing home as bland and tasteless.  We talked like always.  As I left I kissed her on the forehead and said “I love you Mrs. Grandma,” as I usually do.  I had no idea that it would be for the last time.   Over the last three years Grandma suffered from hypoexmia (low oxygen levels in the blood).  She had been hospitalized several times and we were told that the end was a matter of hours.  Grandma fought back (literally) and defied the prognosis of the doctors to their amazement.  Not this time.  Grandma was to wear a bi-pap at night (a breathing machine that kept her oxygen levels up).  Last Sunday (July 14) she refused to put it on.  As her oxygen levels decreased she refused to go to the hospital . On Tuesday morning July 16, 2013, my Grandmother transitioned from labor to reward.  While my heart is broken, I understand that she was tired.  She said so.  My Grandmother only had one child who passed away at the age of 56.  That one child had 7 and those 7 had 16 and those 16 had 11. Grandma was the pianist for our church from the time she was 12 years old and if there was noone else in the choir she had her grandchildren.  She would tell us to” listen to the words of the song” and then you could sing better.  She was the first music teacher/choir director to many generations (not just our family).  Even when she was in the nursing home she was an inspiration.  She encouraged the young CNAs many from our hometown who never knew her before she was in the nursing home.  As her great-grand children and great-great grandchildren pour into town today and tomorrow we will draw from the strength that she left behind.  We will celebrate her homegoing by doing the two things that she made sure we know how to do, we will give God the glory for her having been in our lives for so long and we will sing. And I know that where ever her spirit has transitioned to she and Mama, and my sister Darlene will be together watching it all and Grandma will say “All my children can sing!”

Rest in Peace Doris Odessa Davis Hankins, you will truly be missed.

~ by Diva2de on July 20, 2013.

2 Responses to “Eighty Nine…Goodbye Grandma”

  1. Expressing condolences and prayer to your family.

Leave a Reply

 
