S.I.S.T.A.H.S

Yesterday I had the privilege of hanging out with my “baby Sistas”.  S.I.S.T.A.H.S ( Sisters inspiring souls to attain higher success) is a performing poetry club that I am a founding member of on the campus of UNC Wilmington where I live and go to school (yeah I know, it still trips me out sometimes too).  We participated in a poetry slam on campus sponsored by several departments.  The beautiful thing about hanging with my baby sistas is that they are so extremely talented.  They range in age from 18- 22.  They are not shallow little girls but are deep thinkers, compassionate people, socially and politically aware and concerned about the world around them. Their abilities to express all those things poetically is  astounding.  I feel so honored to be apart of this group of powerful young ladies.  I see them as the future movers and shakers of the world.  I have a love for them so strong that I find it difficult to understand myself as we haven’t really know each other that long.  These young ladies, and they are ladies, remind me of different aspects of myself when I was different ages.  I want so much to be able to share what I know and the mistakes I made with them to help them not to make those mistakes.  They seem receptive.  I’m not too preachy.  This is what I understand after having raised two daughters to adulthood.  Somethings you can’t discuss with your mother no matter how close you are.  Some things parents can’t understand unless they have experienced them first hand.  Sometimes, no matter how much your parents warn you about something you won’t listen, just because you wont.  That’s just the way it is.  I think where I fall in is that I’m willing to share honestly, my triumphs and my mistakes, and the lessons that I’ve learned from them.  That’s all well and good but I think I’m learning just as much or more from these young ladies as they are learning from me.  Asia, displaced by Katrina is such a serene spirit.  She is quiet, but when she steps to the mic, man…such power.  Zeinab, is a true Warrior woman.  Her Nigerian heritage is evident in her walk and the way she carries herself.  Sister is soo strong.  She is just getting into poetry having been more involved with story writing, but when she comes with a poem, oooh just depth and power.  Natavia is on the Rugby team.  She is a fighter, but not just physically, she is a social advocate for the disenfranchised and lost and it comes through in her verse.  Kobe is Ghanaian, she is beautiful and multitalented.  She dances and sings and has the most beautiful deep smooth mahogany skin.  She is coming into her own as a woman and she speaks that poetically.  Danielle,  is a masters student.  Physically people may walk by her and not even notice her presence.  She is slim and petite, her hair is a dull cross between blonde and brown, but when she starts spitting her word wizardry you have no choice but to acknowledge that looks can be deceiving.  She tackles socio-economic/political/sexist issues with a fire and passion that tells you that she is a woman to be reckoned with.  Kamaria is a model-esque beauty with a voice that belies the bite of its words.  She is deeply spiritual and very family oriented.  I think it’s why she walks with her back so straight.  It’s obvious that strong women in her family have helped created that backbone. And Danica, she is the personification of Jazz and her poetry is it’s spoken form.  These young women are Powerhouses and i don’t even know if they realize just how much they inspire me.  I can’t wait to see how they change the world when they leave here.

~ by Diva2de on April 4, 2013.

Leave a Reply

