Don’t judge me

Yesterday I attended the funeral of a 25-year-old co-worker and former classmate of my children who was shot and killed on my birthday.  It was not a sad funeral because of the things that his friends had to say about him.  One friend in particular, his best friend, a white young man who opened by saying that people would never have guessed that he and Rahman were best friends.  He talked about how Rahman wanted to show people that you can’t judge a book by the cover.  Rahman had dreds, wore his pants sagging as most young men his age do.  What set him apart was his heart.  He was always giving to others.  Most people would never have suspected that about him.  Another thing that people would never have suspected about him is that he was writing not one but two books, loved to read and was baptised at a very young age.  His goal was to prove to people that you can’t judge a book by the cover.  His friend talked about how he was told no so many times about so many things but he never gave up.  I really got to interact with Rahman at work, where I was very impressed with the way he handled himself on the phone.  We are collectors.  Not the easiest job in the world, but as I listened to Rahman on the phone I was impressed with the casual aplomb with which he handled even difficult customers.  He was rarely goaded into becoming irritated.  He was also one of the top collectors in the center.  He took pride in everything that he did.  The most interesting thing about his friend’s eulogy was that he talked about how Rahman had recently gone to everybody he thought he may have wronged in some way and apologized to them.  It made me wonder if people really do know when their time is almost up.  While it is always sad when we lose someone we love, I don’t feel sad anymore at the loss of Rahman Liadi.  I believe he made his peace with God.  If that is the case then I will see him again.    I think that his life really did prove that you can’t judge a book by its cover. May his soul rest in peace.

~ by Diva2de on March 29, 2013.

Leave a Reply

