More than skin deep

On Friday, just 1 day after the due date and my 50th birthday my grandson, Daniel Justin Watkins Jr. came into the world.  I had the privilege  of witnessing this miracle.  He was perfect 10 finger and 10 toes.  Nana was immediately smitten.  As we do in this day of social media my daughter and son-in-law posted pictures of their pride and joy.  If you’ve read this blog before then you know that my grandchildren (my oldest daughter has 2) are multi-ethnic.  I’m shocked and amazed that there are still people who think that it’s ok to make jokes about people who don’t look like them.  There were comments like “blasian” and “black Daniel son”.  My grandchildren are beautiful and it has nothing to do with the amount of melanin in their complexion that makes them dark or fair, or whether there is more or less kink in the texture of their hair.  They are beautiful to me because they are mine.  I look into those little faces and I see different aspects of their parents and my mother and my sisters and brothers, and that’s what makes them beautiful.  You would think that in 2013 people would be more apt to recognize them as members of the human race, but the color line still exists in this country.  So does the color lie.  The color lie is that people who are not wholly anglo/european are somehow less than.  I grew up in a different time where people could come up missing if they spoke out against prejudice.  I watched people call my daddy boy.  The local police chief beat up on men that he could  not physically take without a badge.  I was called names in school that were not on my birth certificate while teachers told me to stop being so sensitive.  Through all this we had to remain silent because speaking out would only cause more trouble.  Even though I know that I can’t change anybody’s mind about how they feel about themselves or people who don’t look like them, I will not remain silent.  So I’m putting everybody on notice.  If anybody makes ugly, mean-spirited racial slurs aimed at my grandchildren, my children or my sons-in-law, you will hear from me.  It’s not okay. Period.

~ by Diva2de on March 24, 2013.

Leave a Reply

