There is power…

Today was quite a day.  My son’s 25th birthday.  My 88-year-old grandma was again in the hospital.  For the past year and a half she’s been suffering with bouts of high levels of co2 in her blood stream caused or exacerbated by sleep apnea.  She goes into the hospital and is lethargic and unresponsive.  The pattern is always the same.  They tell us that she’s not going to make it and in a few days or a week she’s pretty much back to normal.  Today was different.  Today she said that she “I think this is it.  But I’m ready.  I’ve got my house in order.”  That was the clearest thing that she said all day.  I recall one time last year when she had the same symptoms she said “I’m not ready.  The Lord is not ready for me yet.”  It makes me wonder if people know.  I remember last summer, there was a member of our church who was 91 years old and had been sick.  I went to visit her after church one sunday and we had a wonderful time singing and praising God.  She made some comments very similar to the ones Grandma made today.  She passed away late monday night/early Tuesday morning.  I wonder if people that age know when they are going to die.  Is it just people who are older or is it a person of any age?  I’ve heard plenty stories of people who seemed to know when they were going to die.  Please don’t misunderstand, I’m not trying to rush my Grandmother off to the other side, but she said she was ready.  She’s never said that before.  I’ve also seen cases of someone dying in a family as another person is born.  My grandson is due on my birthday which is thursday.  It makes me wonder if there is a finite number of souls that can be alive in one family at a time.  Maybe this sounds like craziness but knowing that God is a God of order, and if He actually knows the number of hairs on your head and has them numbered such that hair number 2461 has a specific locationm then wouldn’t it stand to reason that there is order in everything concerning His creation?  Is that an illogical thought?  Do I think too much?  I don’t know.  I think I may be a little too much into my feelings today.  I do wonder though.  My grandfather said there’s more to think about than there is to talk about.  Perhaps he was right.

~ by Diva2de on March 20, 2013.

Leave a Reply

