Algebra Tested

I took my second algebra test today.   It wasn’t terrible.  I’m not saying I aced it, but I was very familiar with the things on it.  Usually I get a quiz or test and I feel like I’ve never seen this stuff before in my life.  What was different?  Well I think the biggest thing was a mind-set adjustment. I had to stop thinking of algebra as hell.  I’m a far more than reasonable intelligent and the only thing stopping me from actually learning algebra is me.  The next thing I did was organize my notes.  I had a lot of notes that were just all over the place, in no particular order.  I also went to a study session with my instructor.  This was the turning point.  I realized that I knew more than I was giving myself credit for.  Since we are halfway through the semester it may be too late to prevent myself from having to retake this course, but what i intend to do is learn as much as i can this time and then I will be better prepared for the next one.  That’s my plan.  That doesn’t mean that I’m not going to work as hard as I can to pass this course.  I would really rather not have to take it again.  Having to take it again will push my graduation date back  by one semester and I realllly don’t want to do that.  I’m ready to move on to the next phase of my life.  Which will probably be in Africa, preferably the region of the Congo, or Senegal doing the work of a missionary.  That’s my plan.  But you know about the best laid plans of mice and men…

~ by Diva2de on March 15, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
