Hell(gebra) Bent

I have my struggles with Hell-gebra.  I  decided to take advantage of the math lab.  It was not helpful at all.  I walk in and I can’t tell who is the person that you are supposed to go to for help because they all look alike.  (I know how that sounds).  Who ever the person was that was supposed to be there to help didn’t even acknowledge that  someone else had entered the room.  I decided I wasn’t going to let that stop me so I sat down at the computer to pull up me online book.  The computer was locked and I was unable to sign in.  After sitting there for about 20 minutes (without being acknowledged by the person who was supposed to be there for assistance) I just walked out.  Again no acknowledgement.  Now I have gone to a math lab before when I was in community college.  As soon as you walk in the door they ask if you need help and what class you need it for.  It’s community college, they care.  The bad part about this whole situation is that I thought I would at least be able to get one on one tutoring for my class.  One on one tutoring is not available.  It really made me what to holla and throw up both my hands.  Of course I won’t give up it’s not in my DNA.  I’ve got to find a way, a system a short cut to be able to understand this beast known as algebra.  The system that I have devised is coming along, just not fast enough since I have a test EVERY friday.  My system is to write down all the steps in words as I practice.  For instance, when I am doing word problems using the simple interest formula (I=prt)  I had to come up with a way to remember how to write the equation which may look something like this  .07x + .15(13,000-x)=15000.  I couldn’t remember that by just reading the word problem so I created my own short cut.  Well I don’t know if you would call it short but it helps me remember how to set up the equation.  rate + rate( principle-x) = balance.  I hope it works.  I don’t know if it will make a difference or not but what I do know is that I will not give up on myself when it comes to this class.  Right now I have a C.  I’m gonna do everything I can to keep it ’til the end.

~ by Diva2de on February 1, 2013.

Leave a Reply

