Behold all things become new…

And so the end of 2012 is getting nearer and nearer.  I can’t say that I will be sad to see it go, it’s been a turbulent year for me.  Although I wouldn’t want to repeat it I wouldn’t want to trade it either.  I have grown exponentially from the experiences. My mind has been expanded I’ve grown spiritually, emotionally and as a citizen of the world.  The biggest teacher for me this year was 44 days in a homeless shelter.  Living in the shelter taught me that I can live without all the things that I thought I couldn’t live with out.  Things that I thought were necessities but discovered that they were luxuries; cable, dsl, late night snacks. Mostly I learned to appreciate the ability to come and go as I please.  When you live in a shelter (at least the one I was in) you have to be in when they say, you go to bed when they say,  you eat when they say and you eat what they say.  I was in what is refered to in this area as the “Hilton” of shelters.  I learned to see things in the world that I didn’t know existed, I learned to respect people in a way I never have before.  Everybody, no matter where they live, what they look like, what they smell like, deserves respect.  Every person that you come in contact with has the ability to leave a footprint on your life if you are open.  You can also leave a footprint on someone else’s life.  You can decide if you leave muddy footprints or clean foot prints.  The absolutely most important thing I learned was to really trust God. Living in a homeless shelter can break your mind.  I’ve had issues with depression all my life but keeping my focus on God and trying to be helpful to the other women there kept me from losing my mind.  Now as 2012 fades and 2013 rises, I am ready to face this New Year unafraid to be myself and give of myself to others.  I’m getting out of myself and into the world.  Maybe I’ll leave some footprints…

Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.

-2Cor. 5:17-

~ by Diva2de on January 1, 2013.

Leave a Reply

