Christmas Roots

In my first Christmas alone in, 49 years I’ve been watching a lot of TV.  I came across Roots on BET.  Roots, the 1976 mini-series that rocked the nation and the first thing on TV that gave a close to realistic look at slavery in America.  I was in the 7th grade when it originally aired.  I personally believe that this is one of the most important mini-series of our time.  I don’t want to see it during the Christmas holidays.  Then I got what I like to call a “brain itch”.  A brain itch is something in my mind that I just can’t get out.  What would make the programming director of BET think ROOTS would be appropriate and desired programming for the Christmas holidays?  As religious as we tend to be as a people, and as many feel good movies there are out there that feature black people, why would BET (Black ENTERTAINMENT Television) be showing Roots non stop?  Well because this thing has been itching my brain for the last couple of days I decided to look up BET and see who owns it now.  I know that it was originally founded by Robert L. Johnson in 1980.  Mr. Johnson sold BET to Viacom in 2000.  So, in 2012, during the Christmas Holidays, on the cusp of the inauguration of the second term of the first African-American President (I know he’s biracial but some people only see one thing) Black Entertainment Television, owned by Viacom runs Roots practically 24/7.  One of my Facebook friends said “maybe they’re trying to tell you something”  This caused an even deeper brain itch.  If they are trying to tell me something, what would they be trying to tell me?  Just because there is a president of African descent and just because he has been re-elected we will never let you forget that you were slaves.  Remember that you were bought and sold like any other commodity in the founding of this country.  Remember that you were treated as less than human.  And never forget that we will never for get.  The funny thing about that is the fact that everything that could be done to try to denigrate and annihilate a group of people was done to us, but we survived.  We’re still here.  We’re not leaving.

~ by Diva2de on December 25, 2012.

Leave a Reply

