half centenarian

My classmates have started having their 5oth birthday parties.  I’m supposed to go to one tonight.  While I don’t have a problem with turning fifty and i don’t have a problem with birthday parties, I don’t like going to bars.  Just something that I’ve outgrown.  I said I would go but I’m feeling some type of way about going.  I don’t think I’m to good for it, it’s not that, it’s just not something I do anymore.  I don’t drink anymore (except the occasional glass of wine).  I’m actually excited about turning 50 because it feels to me like I’m finally a grown up.   I finally know who I am and what I want.  I don’t feel the need to try to please other people.  So I guess I have my answer about the party.  I was still considering going because I didn’t want to disappoint my classmates.  Fifty is a momentous occasion but I would rather stay in tonight and write.  So…

~ by Diva2de on December 22, 2012.

Leave a Reply

