It may not seem like it but I do love Christmas.  What i don’t love is the commercialization of it( that’s a whole nother rant!).  I even heard a member of the “professionals” panel on NBC’s Today Show who said that she didn’t like “the religious part” of it.  Now correct me if I’m wrong, but isn’t Christmas a religious holiday?  Aren’t most of the holidays that are celebrated around the same time as Christmas based on some religious observance whether it is a Christian religion or not?  So if you don’t like the “religious part” of the holiday, then why not opt out of the holiday?  Listen, I’m not offended by someone celebrating the religious holiday of their choice because that, in no way changes what I believe.  Instead of the (and I really hate this term) secular humanists wanting to remove the “religious part” from holidays why don’t they just opt out.  Lets face it most of what we do as human beings is based on some tradition that started somewhere. And lets be honest Christmas is a celebration of the birth of Christ.  If you don’t believe in the things that make Christians want to celebrate that particular event, you don’t have to, but why try to rob them (us) of our right to acknowledge it.  I’m not offended if someone says happy Hanukkah, or Kwanzaa or Ramadan or Winter Solstice or what ever other holiday is being observed.  Why would someone else be offended if I say Merry Christmas?  I don’t want to say happy holidays.  Not because I begrudge anyone else their right to celebrate the holiday of their choice but because we should all have the right to observe what we observe.  Isn’t that one of the founding principles of this country?  So Merry Chrismakwanzaramadas to all and to all a good night or day or eight nights or 30 days.

~ by Diva2de on December 11, 2012.

2 Responses to “”

  1. This made me laugh 🙂 Once I went to a Rosh Hashanah dinner during which one of the guests explained that she and her husband had to switch synagogues because the rabbi was too religious – and nobody batted an eye!

  2. This also made me think of another situation though. I used to work for a government organization where the head of the department was Jewish. She decided it was high time to change the “Christmas party” to the “Holiday party”. Not because she had anything against Christmas, but because to her it made no sense – we were in no way commemorating Christmas or any other religious happening during this completely secular, social gathering. The only reason it was her that brought it up was simply because, as a minority, she was sensitive to the minority perspective of it – and how illogical it was. Some folks were really upset….but to me, it made sense. I find it shallow and sometimes even upsetting when people use the word Christmas when nothing about the event/thing pertains to Christ at all, let alone honoring Him. Case in point: the Victoria’s Secret Christmas catalog…..

Leave a Reply

