Long enough

I have been at my current church since I moved back home in 2004.  It’s the church where I grew up and learned about the bible.  It’s the place where I first walked down the aisle at the age of 12 and gave my life to Jesus the Christ.  It’s where I learned all the words to Trust and Obey and Amazing Grace.  It’s where my mother and my sister’s funerals were held.  It’s the place where I got my spiritual foundation.  My home church has changed.  It has become stagnant.  The people are going through the motions.  Since I’ve been there I’ve tried to spread my enthusiasm, my passion for the things of God among my family members and friends.  There were times it seemed as if it was working.  I’ve had to acknowledge that it’s not.    A couple of Sundays ago as the pastor was preaching I was just flipping through my bible thinking about how I was becoming stagnant as I stayed in this place and came across this scripture:

The Lord our God spoke to us at Horeb, saying, “You have stayed long enough at this mountain. Resume your journey… (Deuteronomy 1:6 and part of 7)

And then He sent confirmation.  At friends and family day on this past Sunday, the guest speaker came with the message “Let God Decide”.  The theme of the message was this:  there is someone here who has a decision to make.  Let God decide.  So many of the things that the speaker talked about were so appropriate for my situation.  I know that most people when they hear sermons they can apply them to their situations, that’s the way it’s supposed to be, but this was different.  It confirmed everything, even that, though it’s time for me to leave, God will decide where I am supposed to go.  I haven’t really told anybody yet that I’m leaving because I haven’t heard the word that it’s time to move and where to move, but I know that the move is coming.  When I played baseball the coached said when you’re in the field you move at the crack of the bat.  When you hear the bat hit the ball you move in the direction that the ball is moving in.  God’s voice is the crack of the bat.  I’m glad I’ve learned that there doesn’t have to be thunder and lightning and doves don’t have to descend from the clouds in order to hear God speak to you.  Sometimes it’s that still small voice inside.  Whichever way He decides to speak, I will be listening for the crack of the bat, and then I will move.

~ by Diva2de on November 27, 2012.

Leave a Reply

