In all the wrong places…

My divorce became final on April 5, 2005.  I wore a tiara to work.  I was married for 18 years and things just didn’t turn out.  No hard feelings, we’ve both moved on.   Now, 7 years later, I’m still single. That’s not a bad thing.  I actually don’t mind being single, however…I have had very few dates since I have been divorced.  Oh, I’ve met men and even had a few (really jacked-up) sorta relationships, but not many dates.  I wonder if I’m looking in all the wrong places. Actually, what I wonder is if there are any right places for someone like me.  Someone like me is a woman who is a little better than 90 days away from her fiftieth birthday and well beyond games.  I’m not really interested in being anybody’s girlfriend, cause let’s face it, I’m way past the girl phase in life.  What that means is that I know what makes me happy and what gets on my nerves.  At this point  that’s unlikely to change.  I know what turns me on and what turns me off.  I don’t really want to spend time with a grown man who is still acting like he’s 16 and unfortunately there are waaaaay too many men my age who are trapped in the time warp.  I’ve tried online Christian dating and let me just say that people’s interpretation of what a Christian is can be vastly different from mine.  I’m not trying to be anybody’s booty call (or rather have anybody be my booty call).   Been there, done that, got the t-shirt, the sun visor, the fanny pack and the sweat bands. They just don’t fit anymore. Burned the black book.  So what am I looking for? or rather who am I looking for?  At this point, nobody, but if someone should happen to show up he should be able to do the following:  Hold an intelligent conversation on a plethora of topics,  Understand that christianity is more than just going to church, like to read and discuss what he’s read, watching sports is ok as long as he is willing to watch Grimm and Jason Statham movies with me.  Be able to discuss the psychology of chick flicks.  Listen to what I’m learning and share what he’s learning.  (Learning doesn’t mean he has to be in school just be willing to learn. If you’re not learning you’re not growing, if you’re not growing you’re not living and if you’re not living…)  cook with me while listening to music (anything from Bach to Bootsy Collins), be willing to look, act and be silly.  Support me when I perform or speak or whatever other thing I might do (understanding that I will give the same in return).  Respect my eccentricity and creativity. Most of all understand that I don’t ask for anything that I’m not willing to give.  He must accept that my family is second only to God. Most of all he must be willing to accept me the way I am.  For some that may seem like a lot to ask or it may seem like SOP.  Either way, I haven’t found it yet or it hasn’t found me.  I’ve stopped looking.  I fear that in order for a man to really get my attention he may need to come with a letter from Jesus. It wouldn’t hurt if it were written in blood.

~ by Diva2de on November 14, 2012.

Leave a Reply

