I know I’ve been changed…

Last night I sat alone in my room and watched the election returns.  Quietly, just me and my thoughts.  My room, If you don’t know is one of 4 in the “quad” on the campus of UNC Wilmington.  I share the common areas with 3 others and a bathroom with 1 of the three.  Needless to say, I am the only black roommate.  That doesn’t bother me because I’m also the only roommate over 40.  So last night, I sat in my room, minding my own business as I often do.  After the election was called and it was confirmed that President Obama had been re-elected,  noise erupted in the common area.  One of my roommates, the one with whom I share the bathroom, was the loudest one.  She is also the one who is a Christian. “[By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.” Jn. 13:35 NIV]  She was really upset and talked about how she would now have to start eating Ramen (noodles) because everybody was going to be unemployed.  “I’m sure Obama supporters will be partying all night since they don’t have jobs to go to.”  She was very upset that President Obama had been re-elected.  When I had enough of their vitriol, I simply opened my door, walked out and looked at them…they scattered like roaches.  I went back into my room and closed the door. (No slam necessary)  This is how I know I’ve been changed.  When I was brushing my teeth this morning, I looked at her toothbrush sitting in the holder with thoughts of stirring toilet water in my mind.  “She better be glad I’m saved,” I said to myself.  Yeah, I know I’ve been changed.  Angels in heaven done signed my name

~ by Diva2de on November 8, 2012.

Leave a Reply

