The Color Purple

Photo by Bliss Photography

LaKesha Lee-Obadin as Celie,me as Sofia Photo: Bliss Photograhy

I’ve been away for a minute because of my recent performances in Techmoja Dance and Theater Company’s production of The Color Purple.  I am so honored to have been a part of such a dedicated, enthusiastic and talented cast.  It was an experience that I will not soon forget.  What made it even sweeter was the fact that there were so many things from the outside trying to tear us down  (read previous post Kevin vs. Goliath for more details).  The end product was well worth all the work that we put into it. The sets were beautiful, the costumes were colorful and the singing and dancing was phenomenal.  The acting was Broadway calibre. That can be contributed in no small part to he visionary Kevin Lee-Y Green.  This young man (who is under 30 years old) is an awesome talent and sees things in a way that continues to astound me.  Though he has been maligned and mistreated he has continued to conduct himself with dignity and class.  The show was a resounding triumph.  I cannot describe how moving the show was.  I am so proud to have been a part of this production that tackled so many tough subjects, childhood sexual abuse, domestic violence, racism and sexism.  It was a cornucopia of excellence. To Kevin Lee-Y Green, continue to dream big young man because dreams come true with hard work.  Thank you for trusting me with Sofia.  I hope I didn’t let you down.

~ by Diva2de on October 31, 2012.

Leave a Reply

