I’m not Voting for Barak Obama

 Anybody who has ever read this blog knows that I support President Obama.  I don’t support him simply because of the amount of melanin in his skin.  I support him because he gets it.  He understands that there are many issues that plague American people.  He understands that some of us are not even seen from the angle of the vision of the other party.  Even though our constitution holds certain truths to be self-evident, it was written at a time that all men were not treated equal. Our President still believes in these principles. I find myself a little miffed that the mainstream media is now telling us that black people will not vote for Barak Obama because he has “come out” in support of same-sex marriage.  That black pastors are telling their congregations to stay home.  This is insulting to me as a black woman because there are so many issues that are important in this election.  I make my decisions of how to vote based on my personal convictions. But there is one thing that is certain, I’m not voting for Barak Obama alone.  I’m voting for him yes, but also for every black person who was lynched, whipped and denied “certain inalienable rights”.  Yes I’m voting for Barak Obama, but I’m also voting for the man in the picture, that lived his entire life and never got the chance to vote.  I’m voting to stand against every stripe on his back.  I’m voting for my own kin who fought and died for this country just like the ancestors of many other Americans who weren’t denied the right to vote.  Yes I’ voting for Barak Obama, but I’m also voting for them.

~ by Diva2de on September 19, 2012.

Leave a Reply

