Please don’t Paint the people.

I have blogged several times regarding Techmoja Dance and Theater Company’s production of The Color Purple and the “backstabery and liplarceny” going on.  Now I hear that the other theater company (which is a primarily white theater company that rarely does shows that feature African-Americans) is considering “bronzing” white actors to play roles in their show.  I hope that’s just a vicious rumor.  I really don’t want to believe that this company is so intent on making money that they will disrespect their audience and actors of color in the Wilmington area by insinuating that there are not enough Black actors to fill the cast.  True enough Techmoja has already cast our show, and we have some outstanding actors in the cast.  We have been in rehearsal for about a month now, but I know for a fact that there are other black actors in the area.  I have to be honest, if I were not in the show with a different company I would be there on opening night protesting.  How do you think, I don’t care how good the white actors are, that you can put this story on the stage with white actors essentially in black face?  That would turn it into a minstrel show.  The integrity of the show would be ruined, and if I were the writer of the show, or the author of the book I would be insulted.  I’m praying that this is just a rumor by people who are trying to stir up trouble.  If it’s true, the controversy that it will create may cause irreparable damage to all involved.

~ by Diva2de on September 8, 2012.

Leave a Reply

