Love being a Nana

I have been with my grandchildren all weekend. I have seen so many versions of itsy bitsy spider on youtube that my head is spinning.  Some call it the eency weency spider others the incy wincy spider.  Some wear shoes, others wear shoes and gloves. There are spiders in all different colors (which my two-year old granddaughter recognizes quite well thankyouverymuch), and various genres of music (one version sounded like N’Sync from back in the day). All sufficiently entertaining for a 2-year-old and an 11 month old.  The most important thing to 2know when trying to reproduce this popular children’s classic, I believe, is to understand what a water spout is.  I saw a version from another country, and though they had the prerequisite “itsy bitsy” they spider was crawling up a brick wall and not a water spout.  It made the song make absolutely no sense.

~ by Diva2de on September 3, 2012.

Leave a Reply

