So I have embar…

So I have embarked on another “different” journey. Last Friday I moved into on campus non-traditional student housing.  I don’t know if they had me in mind when they created “non” traditional student housing, but here I am.  It’s really quite interesting how I ended up here.  My living situation was less than stellar (details of that story are for another blog).  My oldest daughter said to me ‘Mom, you should live on campus.”  Believe it or not I hadn’t even considered it. But I thought, well at least I will give it a try, and then when it doesn’t work i can at least said i tried.  I started out walking towards the Housing office and it was so hot that i didn’t make it but I decided to at least call.  I asked the person who answered about information on non traditional student housing. She told me that nothing was available.  “You have to get your application in by May 1st Ma’am”  there was nothing available.  But then she gave me an email address and told me to let this person know that if anything became available I would be interested.  This was on Tuesday.  On Wednesday I got a call at work and it was someone from the housing office asking me if I was still interested because a lease had become available.  Of course I said yes.  I signed the lease on the following Friday.  So here I am, not the traditional dorm setting but I do have 3 roommates.  We share the common areas (living room, kitchen, bathroom) but each have private rooms.  It was really funny when I was moving in because I was moving in by myself and I could tell the people were looking for the “student”.  I have to admit that I was a little worried about how the roommates would feel about having a roommate that is somebody’s grandmother.  On friday I met one. She was a sweet Christian Girl.  Didn’t seem to have a problem with me.  Then yesterday I came home and couldn’t get the card to work.  I saw a young lady come out of the door and asked if she was going back in.  She told me how I could get in when the card doesn’t work.  When I got upstairs I discover that ths young lady is one of my room mates. So I’ve met two and they are cool but there is still one I have yet to meet.  She may be the one with the science projects in the refrigerator.  I think I’m gonna get my own fridge.  I imagine I will have some “interesting” times in my current living situation.  Guess we’ll have to wait and see.

~ by Diva2de on August 16, 2012.

Leave a Reply

