Eighty Eight and counting

Last night I stopped by my grandmother at the nursing home.  She’s 88 and very much in her right mind.  She started playing the piano at church when she was 12 years old and was in her sixties when she finally retired. When ever I go by to visit her we alwasy talk about music and usually end up singing.  Last night after such a visit, she said “you know what would be good?  Some liver and onions. ”  So today I went by K&W Cafeteria and got her some liver and onions and cabbage and mashed potatoes and gravy and chocolate cake.  And we talked.  It is so wonderful to still have my grandmother  and able to sit down and talk about the goodness of the Lord together.  She reminds me to count my blessings and leave the past behind.  She reminds me to trust in God and know that everything is in His hands.  Maybe what she doesn’t realize is that she is a blessing.  My mother died  when she was 56.  She was my grandmother’s only child.  Yeah, Grandma is a blessing.

~ by Diva2de on August 4, 2012.

Leave a Reply

