a lovely day

Today my girls and son-in-law and grand babies are coming.  Naima (my granddaughter) will be two in Thursday.  For her birthday she is going to see Nemo.  Ok so she’s going to the NC Aquarium at Fort Fisher, but to a two-year old, that’s going to see Nemo.  I’m so excited to see Nani and her brother Parker and both my daughters and my son-in-law.  It’s so amazing how much they all remind me of what is important.  Family is very important.  Being able to spend time with the grandkids while they are still young is a blessing.  It’s just as important to spend time with the adult kids too.  Our relationships are so very different from when they were kids.  I don’t have to be concerned with trying to tell them what to do because they are (obviously) able to take care of themselves.  That frees us to really get to know each other.  Yes I raised them, we had our ups and downs during that process but at some point parents must acknowledge that their role as protector and provider has ended.  Well maybe the protector part will always exist but on a different level. My protection these days comes in the form of advice (if requested) and prayer.  They never belonged to me anyway, God loaned them to me to mold and shape and prepare for their own journey.  Though I know I made some mistakes along the way (don’t we all) I think they turned out pretty good.  Not because of me but in spite of me.  I believe that best thing, the most important thing, I gave them was a foundation in the Word of God.  I stressed to them the importance of faith and prayer.  When I can’t get to them the love of God will always be able to reach them.  I’m so very proud of who they are right now.  I can’t wait to see them today, and hug and kiss them up.  A day at the beach with the babies and the kids. The only thing that could make it better is if my son and my other son-in-law could be here.  I look forward to a great day with my lovelies…

http://www.ncaquariums.com/fort-fisher

~ by Diva2de on July 28, 2012.

Leave a Reply

