My Fellow Americans

I’ve recently had the opportunity to see another side of the country of my birth, the land of the free.  In the land of the free there are a lot people bound by poverty. They are people who have become invisible. People who walk the streets everyday because they have nowhere else to live except a shelter that they can’t go into between the hours of 8am and 4pm.  These are people who have become the faceless, nameless background of our society.  We pay them no more attention than we do schrubery.  I’ve walked by them everyday and never made eye contact, or just looked right through them. What have we become that we are no longer concerned about our fellow man?  Who do we think we are that we are so busy pursuing our American dream that we can’t even reach out a hand to help those who are in need? We have become a society of people who are so concerned with creating their own personal kingdoms that we no longer care about anybody else.  It’s just us four and no more.  I’m ashamed of myself for having been so concerned with the accouterments of success that I’ve forgotten the things that make me successful.  My success is the fact that I’ve raised 3 kids to adulthood with no one has ever been arrested or committed any crimes and are contributing members to society.  They are talented and intelligent and care about other people.  My success is not that I am going back to school to pursue my degree after all these years, but the fact that I never give up on my dreams.  I don’t have a lot of money, but how can i take what i do have and make a positive difference in the lives of the people around me?  This question that I’ve asked myself is what I challenge my fellow Americans to ask as well.  How can we make our world around us a better place?  We don’t have to have a lot of money, but a desire to be a positive influence.  And what about if you do have a lot of money?  When people have money it’s almost impossible for them to understand what life is like for people who are struggling from day to day to keep their lights on and a roof over their heads.  They can’t even conceive of living from paycheck to paycheck.  Would it be too much to ask for my fellow Americans who waste more money in a month than some people make all year to find a way to give back?  People are so excited to send a few dollars a month to another country to feed hungry kids for just a few cents a day, when there are children in this country who are just as hungry.  Can we, America, stop watching reality TV long enough to check into reality and help people who really need us right here in our own country?  I’m just asking…

~ by Diva2de on July 3, 2012.

Leave a Reply

