Substance and evidence

There are some things in life that are simply inevitable; the changing of the seasons, day into night, death, taxes and suffering.  From the richest to the poorest, people suffer.  There are some who question the existence of God based on the fact that people suffer.  I don’t question the existence of God based on suffering.  I acknowledge that if it were not for suffering, I would not know in my heart that God is real.

I am currently dealing with a situation that I know that I cannot resolve on my own.  I have been speaking the word to my situation.  For some that may seem a little strange.  “What do you mean speaking the word to your situation?” What I mean is this:  First of all as believers in the most High God, we agree that as the word (the bible) says we are created in His image and likeness.  With that being the case, we have the ability to speak things into existence.  We believe in the power of words and the Word.  Second, I believe specifically what the word says about faith. Now faith is the substance of things hoped for the evidence of things not seen. (Heb.  11:1)  Because I am a self-described word nerd  (I have this overwhelming desire to understand words) I put this scripture through my “Word Nerd Filter”.  Let’s look at “the substance of things hoped for”.

Substance:  That of which a thing consists; the actual matter of a thing as opposed to appearance or shadow.

Hope:  the feeling that what is wanted can be had

Evidence:  that which tends to prove or disprove something

thing:  a material object.

So then this gives me this understanding of Hebrews 11:1: Faith is the actual matter of the feeling that what is wanted can be had; that which tends to prove a material object, even when the material object cannot be seen.  Hebrews 11:6 says that without faith, it is impossible to please God.

All of this I apply to my current situation which I know that I, under my own intellect and machinations, can not correct commute or change and it confirms my conviction that God is real and that He is not only a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him, but He is concerned about me.  He really does care about what concerns me.  It also confirms that His word, is true.  It encourages me because I know that I’m not alone.  So I will continue to believe and speak the word to my situation and wait. He’s already worked it out.

Wait on the Lord; Be of good courage, and He shall strengthen your heart; Wait I say, on the Lord. (Ps. 27: 14)

~ by Diva2de on June 4, 2012.

Leave a Reply

