A Change of Heart

Many people are angered and confused by the President’s change of stance on gay marriage.  I’m neither confused nor angered because I understand.  I was very homophobic (ok I’m not completely over it but I am trying). I started doing community theater and there are a lot of gay men in theater (women too).  At first my attitude was disdainful.  Oh, I was polite, because after all I am a christian. My daughter who is a member of the same theater company was a little disappointed in me because she knew of my prejudices and she called me out on them frequently.  As time went on and I got to know these children (and I call them children because I am much older than almost everybody in the company), I realized that they were just like everybody else.  If you cut them they bleed, if you hurt them they cry, and if you reject them…well i discovered that they are a lot more familiar with rejection.  As a christian who was starting to see people instead of labels, I began to search my book of reference to find out how I could justify the love that was forming in my heart for these kids with what I thought was the christian thing to do.  In my research I discovered two things that I believe are very important.  First, as Christians, we follow the teachings of Jesus Christ.  His main message was love.  The second thing is that there is only one judge and that of course if God.  As a christian it’s not my job to determine if someone else has committed a sin.  It’ is my responsibility to live a life in such a way that it points others to the loving and forgiving God that I serve.  Something that I think is very important and I got this quote from a tweet by Dr. Lance Watson of St. Paul Baptist Church in Va. ” It’ is the pastor’s job to uphold the bible, it is the President’s job to uphold the law”.  These people who I once labeled but have come to love have the right under the Constitution of the United States to life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.  My ancestors were initially excluded from that (because they were said to be less than human) and then included when people saw that their thinking was erroneous.  I believe that President Obama probably went through a struggle similar to my own and made  his decision based on what he believes as an individual and what he’s responsible for based on the oath of office that he took.  Change is not always easy but it is the only thing in this life that is absolutely certain.  Instead of castigating the President or trying to determine whether his change was a calculated political move respect the fact that he has had to make some tough decisions with the entire world watching.  My change of heart was private.  Yours (if it comes) will be too.

“A new command   I give you: Love one another.   As I have loved you, so you must love one another.   By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.” John 13:34-35

It’s written in red so it must be important.

http://www.amazon.com/Dierdre-R.-Parker/e/B0082KJ1M8/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1

~ by Diva2de on May 14, 2012.

Leave a Reply

