I need you to survive

I was on my way to my last class of the semester and I was listening to a cd that I made to listen to at work.  I call it my woo woo woo CD.  My job is pretty stressful and there are times that I need to calm down and you just “woo woo woo, it’ll be ok” type of thing.  Anyhoo I was listening to I need you to survive (Hezekiah Walker) and I was overwhelmed by the part that says “I won’t harm you with words from my mouth, I love you, I need you to survive”.  I thought about how often we say things that harm other people.  From political campaigns to entertainment news to little kids on the playground we as human beings say hurtful things to each other.  Words are containers of power and I have in the past used my power for evil and not good.  If I’m honest I have to say that I still do occasionally.  I don’t intend to hurt anyone but words do hurt.  The bible tells us that faith cometh by hearing.  If you are constantly hearing negativity then it is what you have faith in.  But it doesn’t only hurt the hearer.  I believe that every time someone says a hurtful word or even thinks a hurtful thought (for as a man thinketh in his heart so is he) it diminishes the person speaking it.  It increases the darkness in that person’s soul and makes room for more darkness and negativity to come in.  I desire from today on I’m challenging myself to be more mindful of how I’m using the power of words.  Will you join me?

http://www.amazon.com/For-Ma-Sistas-Inspiration-Everywhere/dp/1477409386/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1336528131&sr=1-2

~ by Diva2de on May 8, 2012.

Leave a Reply

