Today is a new day. It’s the beginning of a new month and a new chapter in my life.  The printed compies of my book arrived at my door today.  I think I frightened the UPS lady because I heard hre dragging a box and I come out into the hallway.  Since I was 12 years old and read I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou I wanted to write a book.  I did a lot of research over the years consuming romance novels like red koolaid.  I chose romance novels for several reasons.  First because i am a hopeless romantic, and because they had cool covers.  I was about 13 and seeing those scantily clad women being embraced by those handsome shirtless men with rippling biceps was, well, exciting.  After reading romance novels voraciously and feeding the romantic junkie inside me i discovered that they had some really great dialogue.  (Stay with me) Maybe the words were a little cliche, but  romance novels do dialogue well.  The back and forth and the injection of exposition is really great.  I learned how to write by reading Julie Garwood, Judith McNaught, Jude Deveraux and Catherine Coulter. I know that I’m no Maya Angelou, but I believe that the stories that i have to tell are important to ordinary women like me. I’ve always felt compelled to tell my ordinary story because sometimes ordinary is lived by extraordianry people.  So today I’m officially a published author.  I’m excited to see how this all unfolds.  There are many chapters yet to be written

~ by Diva2de on May 1, 2012.

Leave a Reply

