On Amazon

So now my book is on Amazon.com.  I’m so excited because this has been a dream of mine since I read  “I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings” when I was twelve years old.  That book changed my life because for the first time a read a book about and by somebody who looked like me.  Somebody who understood my life.  It made me believe that I could tell my story in my own voice.  Teachers  tried to convince me that I should try to make my language more “relatable”.  In other words, whiten up my characters and language. I never believed it.  When I (finally) got to college and took creative writing courses , my instructors complimented me on my voice.  I believe I have “the goods” and once my work is available for a wide audience it will speak for itself.  What confirmed this for me was when I met Cuban writer Cristina Garcia. She keeps her ethnicity and is very successful.  I believe I can do the same.  I have a story that is unique, but it’s also a story that all women can relate to. 

~ by Diva2de on April 29, 2012.

Leave a Reply

