Ode to a Boring Teacher

One thing about being a non traditional student is that often times I’m older than everyone in the class room including the instructors.  I have one particular instructor who is well…absolutely annoying.  He is a grad student and I think that he is teaching because that’s what they require/offer for grad students.  It’s obvious that he doesn’t enjoy teaching and his lack of enjoyment spills over into the student experience.  It wouldn’t be so bad if he didn’t turn his back to the class (with his arms folded in front of him) as he reads from the computer the wikipedia information that he has pulled up for the class.  I admit that I can be a little snobby when it comes to things concerning reading and writing but come on dude!  Really?? Wikipedia.  I’m not even going to start on his lack of interest in proper pronunciation of words.  I mean really, if you can take the time to go to wikipedia can’t you go to dictionary.com to find out the proper pronunciation?  I discovered that I’m not the only student who feels that way.  I watch overly studious kids fighting to stay awake and others who say “i can read wikipedia myself from my room”.  I want to believe that he means well.  Maybe teaching is not something that he wanted to do but a part of the master’s program in creative writing.  I can say that i have been able to get some writing done in his class and I wrote a poem especially for him:

Ode to a Boring Teacher

Shall I compare thee to an afternoon nap?

Nay! Thou art less desirable and thy voice

Is as grating as nails on a chalkboard.

Thou hast not the welcoming embrace of escape and respite

but the jangling of my nerves as thou dost get upon them.

Shall I compare thee to an afternoon nap? 

Nay, but thou art so boring thou dost

increase my desire to take one.

~ by Diva2de on April 9, 2012.

Leave a Reply

